Ben reckons my brand name is about to be stolen. I just received this email.
*****
Dear CEO/Principal,
We are a professional Internet consultant organization in HongKong.We have something important on intellectual property right need to confirm with your company.
On Oct20, 2008, we received an application formally.One company named "Tinya Holdings Limited" wanted to register the following domain names:
MegWeaves.com
MegWeaves.asia
MegWeaves.tw
MegWeaves.cn
MegWeaves.in
MegWeaves.sg
and Internet brand: MegWeaves
through our body.
During our preliminary investigation, we found that these domain names' keyword is identical with your trademark.
I wonder whether you consigned Tinya company to register these domian names through us. Or you do not know this company what so ever.
If you do not have idea on them, we doubt their motivation to purchase these domain names. Now we have postponed this issue and have not proceeded their registration.In order to deal with it better, Please let the principal contact me as soon as possible.
Best Regards,
Mabel
Auditing Department (HK Office)
Tel: 00852 9566 0496 or 00852 9566 0489
Fax: 00852-8226 1011
Mail: Mabel@bestweb-service.org
Web: http://www.bestweb-service.net
*****
Dear Mabel didn't write her family name, and her email address is .org, whereas this company's contact email ends with .net, but at least the web site looks legit, and if so, I'm appreciative of Mabel tracking me down.
Though this could just as well be a great hoax, and I might get a whopping bill from them, too, mightn't I?
Monday, October 20, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
2 complaints:
appears it is a fraud:
http://blog.sinohosting.net/beware-of-chinese-domain-names-fraud/
Thanks, Annonymous. Found another blog with almost identical emails sent to all over the world.
Post a Comment